Currently, Google has stopped launching chrome 79 for Android.
As we all know, GoogleChrome 79Officially launched last week for supported desktop and mobile operating systems. However, shortly after the release of chrome 79 for Android, some users began posting on the official chrome help forum, claiming that the available data in chrome 78 was not successfully migrated to chrome 79.
According to Google, the new version has reached 50% of the total user base. However, it is worth noting that not all devices that provide this update have the tool installed. Preliminary data show that only 10% of people have deployed the new version.
In response to user feedback, developers are also starting to work on the chromium error tracking websitePresentationThis problem, and points out that the update to chrome 79 will clean up the local storage and websql.
While chrome works when you open a web site in your browser, applications that rely on WebView functionality are affected by this error.
Some applications available on Google play use this component to provide access to websites or web applications that use local storage options, such as websql or localstorage, to store user data locally.
In other words: it no longer loads any data stored locally by the application, such as personalization and customization of the application, files or credentials. To sum up, it seems that although Google migrated the data, it forgot to cover several key parts in the migration process. According to further analysis, the data still exists, but the application no longer loads the data.
according toZdnetAccording to the report, a developer said encrypted login information from users is no longer available and users who cannot remember their login information will no longer be able to access their accounts.
From a user's point of view, everything seems to have been reset, which has led to a lot of negative reviews of the apps in the official Play store.
Today, Google engineers are still discussing solutions to this problem. Although data can be migrated, it may overwrite new data created by the user due to updates.
The application affected by this error will be displayed as a new installation with no saved user data. At this point, users still don't know if they can recover the data.