Home > News content

"Across the Rings of Saturn" has won the top prize at the 32nd China Science Fiction Galaxy Awards

via:新京报     time:2021/11/21 9:02:00     readed:81

Xie Yunning's "Through the Rings of Saturn" won the 100,000-yuan best novel award at the 32nd China Science Fiction Galaxy Awards online on Nov. 19. This is the first time in the awards' 36-year history that the ceremony will be streamed live online.

The Galaxy Award, established exclusively by Chengdu-based Science Fiction World, is regarded as the highest science fiction award in China. The galaxy Awards presented 18 awards, including the best novel, best novella, best short story and best online science fiction, among which, for the first time, "Children's science fiction" section was added.

Following the last galaxy Award for best novel empty, this year's Galaxy Award has a total of jiang Bo's "Soul of the Machine", Xie Yunning's "Through the Rings of Saturn", Lu's "Future disease", Deng Siyuan's "Touch the stars" four sci-fi masterpieces shortlisted, among which "Future disease" and "Touch the stars" are the author's debut novels.

The prize for best novel went to "Through the Rings of Saturn" by science fiction writer Xie Yunning. According to the award statement, the work "approaches the boundary of imagination with a realistic perspective, enrichis the story with rich and solid scientific and astronomical theories, reflects on the meaning of life, questions the life form of the universe, and, more importantly, helps the creator transcend himself". This is not the first time Xie has won an award: Xie has been writing since 2004's Back to Earth, winning the best New Artist award at the 17th Galaxy Awards for Deep Impact.

Four works were shortlisted for the best Novel award of the 32nd China Science Fiction Galaxy Award, and the grand prize went to "Through the Rings of Saturn" by science fiction writer Xie Yunning.

"Go To the End of Time" by Cheng Jingbo and "The Age of Invisibility" by Tengano won the best novella award, both of which appeared in last year's "Science Fiction World." In the short story category, "Leibniz's Box", "Born To Be Human", "Interpretation", "The Return" and "The Returned Man" won the best short story award. This year is also the first time that the children's science fiction award will be presented. The award was officially added last year. Chen Jing's "Ape 猱 Desire", Xu Dongze's "Crazy School Bus" and Peng Liorong's "Eternal Summer" won the best children's science fiction short story award.

It is worth mentioning that this year's Online science fiction section of the "Reading Cup" Galaxy Award is the most finalists in the six years since it was awarded. The "Best Online science Fiction Award", which also attracts much attention, was won by "We Live in Nanjing", a novel written by "Tian Rui Shuofu", a post-1995 online writer. He also became the first online literature writer to win the Galaxy Award twice -- in 2019, Tianrui Shuofu won the best Online Literature Award at the 30th Galaxy Awards for his work On Mars. During the live broadcast of the award ceremony, Tian Rui said fu, the winner of this year's Best Online science fiction award, talked about the development prospects of online science fiction literature together with Senior editor Of China Literature Group Blu-ray and scholar of China Science Fiction Research Institute of Sichuan University Jiang Zhenyu.

"We Live in Nanjing" tells the story of a high school senior boy living in Nanjing in 2019. He accidentally contacted a girl living in the same geographical location in 2040 through radio, and the two of them faced the apocalypse together. As for the work, "Tianrui Shuofu" said that the creative inspiration for "We Live in Nanjing" actually came in 2017. "Makoto Shinkai's 'Your Name' was popular at that time. After I read it, I thought it was a good topic and thought I could write one myself, so I had the prototype of such a story."

We Live in Nanjing

In addition, this year's Galaxy Award for best Adapted work went to the audio work death of the Third Kind. It is reported that the sci-fi world's first self-developed sci-fi screenplay will be released soon, based on the Galactic award winner Fractal Orange's novel of the same name, The Mystery of Titonus.

Attached: List of winners of the 32nd China Science Fiction Galaxy Award (main awards)

Best Novel

Through the Rings of Saturn, xie Yunning, Sichuan Science and Technology Press

Best Novella

"To hell with the End of Time", written by Cheng Jingbo, published in Science Fiction World, No. 07-08, 2020

"The Age of Invisibility" by Fueno. Science Fiction World, no. 11-12, 2020

Best short Story

Leibniz's Box by Li Weibei

Born human, by Peng Chao

Zhang Shu, Interpretation

The Return of Souls, by Ren Qing

The Returned Man, by Yang Wanqing

Best Online Science Fiction

"We Live in Nanjing", Tian Rui said fu

Best Science fiction Short Story for Children

Ape 猱 Desire degree, author: Chen Jing

Crazy School Bus, by Xu Dongze

Eternal Summer, by Peng Liurong

By He Anan

Editor | Li Yang

Proofreading by Lucy

translate engine: Youdao

China IT News APP

Download China IT News APP

Please rate this news

The average score will be displayed after you score.

Post comment

Do not see clearly? Click for a new code.

User comments