Home > News content

The latest variant of the new crown emerged in early November: new State of New York has entered a catastrophic state of emergency due to the outbreak

via:快科技     time:2021/11/28 11:02:56     readed:165

On November 26th the World Health Organization held an emergency meeting and decided to list B., the new strain of the new coronavirus reported in South Africa two days earlier, as the highest-grade "noteworthy" strain and named Omicron.

Why is the Omicron variant more dangerous? Based on current information, experts believe that the new variant of the new coronavirus is contagious or stronger than the Delta strain, and is likely to make most vaccines less effective.

South Africa first reported the Omicron (B.1.1.529) infection to the agency on November 24, but the first known strain of infection came from a specimen collected in the country on November 9, according to the WHO statement. Reported that in recent weeks, South Africa's new crown virus infections have increased sharply, both consistent with the detected variant B.1.1.529. At the same time, the number of cases of the B.1.1.529 variant is increasing in almost all provinces of the country.

New York Governor Kathy Middot Hohull declared a "catastrophic state of emergency" for the state's new crown outbreak on Tuesday, as infection and hospitalization rates for the new coronavirus rose, as well as concerns about the newly discovered Omicron variant, NBC 4 reported. The statement will take effect on December 3.


According to CCTV news reports, the United States ushered in the holiday travel peak, the large-scale gathering of people increased, U.S. medical experts worry that the combination of multiple factors, the number of new confirmed cases in the United States is likely to rise sharply again in the future. In addition, the United States has long made slow progress in the sequencing of new coronavirus genes, and medical experts worry that the new strain of the new coronavirus, Omicron, may have spread within the United States.

On November 26, local time, the U.S. will impose travel restrictions on citizens from eight countries, including South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia and Mozambique, to prevent the spread of the new coronavirus strain B.1.1.529, CCTV News reported, citing government officials.

translate engine: Bing

China IT News APP

Download China IT News APP

Please rate this news

The average score will be displayed after you score.

Post comment

Do not see clearly? Click for a new code.

User comments