Home > News content

Chinese scientist Hu Hailan wins World Outstanding Female Scientist Award

via:新浪科技     time:2022/6/24 14:00:31     readed:31

Xinhua News Agency Paris, June 23 (reporter Chen Chen) The 2022 World Prize for Women in Science was awarded at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris on Wednesday. Hu Hailan, executive director of the Center for Neuroscience at Zhejiang University in China, and four other women received this year's award.

In an earlier award announcement, UNESCO said That Hu hailan was "honoured for her important discoveries in neuroscience. Her work has led to the development of a new generation of antidepressants.

Hu hailan said at a reception held by the Chinese Permanent Mission to UNESCO on Monday that the Award embodies the purpose of UNESCO and hopes that more young women will learn about science and love science through the award, so as to become one of the women scientists.

Hu hailin is dedicated to the study of neural encoding and regulation mechanisms of social behavior and emotion, especially in the basic and translational research of depression, and has achieved creative and systematic results: She and her team discovered the brain mechanism of the "winner effect" in social competition; This paper provides a new interpretation of the causes of depression from the molecular, cellular and systemic levels, and provides a new idea for the development of better and safer antidepressant drugs.

The other four winners are Maria Guzman, a Cuban epidemiologist, Katarine Corico, a HungariAn-American biochemist, Anes Binaguho, a Rwandan public health expert, and Anhela Nieto, a Spanish embryologist. In addition, UNESCO invited a total of 10 winners of the prize for 2020 and 2021 to present the awards. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, no offline award ceremony was held in these two years.

Addressing the award ceremony, UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay said the world needs science and science needs women. Science must open more and better to women, starting at critical points in education and careers.

Established in 1998 by UNESCO and L 'Oreal, the Prize is awarded annually to five women scientists selected from different continents for their outstanding contributions to scientific progress. The prize aims to recognize their outstanding achievements and support their research careers.

translate engine: Youdao

China IT News APP

Download China IT News APP

Please rate this news

The average score will be displayed after you score.

Post comment

Do not see clearly? Click for a new code.

User comments